AGENDA

 

Venue: Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in the Old Town of Chania, only 300m from the center of the city and 1500m from the near beach. The hotel is fully equipped, luxurious and comfortable. It offers a solid commitment of quality and value. Porto Veneziano consists of 51 carefully decorated rooms and 6 luxurious suites.

Address:

Old Venetian Harbour,

73132 Chania, Crete, Greece

Tel.:  +30 28210 27100

Fax.: +30 28210 27105

Email.: hotel@portoveneziano.gr

 

Workshop Structure

 

June 18, 2006

16:00 – 17:00 Workshop registration in the hotel lobby

17:00 – 20:00 Tour 1

 

June 19, 2006

8:00 – 8:30 Workshop registration in the hotel lobby

 

The Conference Room of the Grant Arsenali, in the Venetian Harbour of Chania, sponsor by the Technical University of Crete

9:00 – 12:00: Session 1

Session Chair: Peter Stanchev

9:00 – 10:00

Michalis Paterakis, Vice President of the Technical University, Crete, Welcome address

Keynote speaker: William Grosky “The 'Bag of Words' Approach to Multimedia Documents: From Monomedia Semantics to Multimedia Semantics”

The field of information retrieval has much accumulated knowledge that directly applies to the field of multimedia semantics, not the least being its approach to representing a document as a 'bag of words'. We argue that this technique (and others) allows the true multimedia nature of multimedia documents to be represented so that such powerful technique as LSA can be used to extract the multiple semantics of such documents. The multimedia field must evolve beyond treating multimedia documents as monomedia documents.

10:00 – 10:30 Coffee break

10:30 – 12:00 Position statements

  • Ramesh Jain and Utz Westermann, “Events are Natural for Multimedia Semantics”

12:00 – 13:00 lunch

 

13:00 - 14:30: Session 2

Session Chair: William Grosky

  • Chrisa Tsinaraki, Andrea Perego, Panagiotis Polydoros, Athina Syntzanaki, Alessandro Martin, Stavros Christodoulakis, “Semantic, Constraint & Preference Based Authoring of Multi-topic Multimedia Presentations”
  • Panagiotis Polydoros, Chrisa Tsinaraki and Stavros Christodoulakis, “GraphOnto: OWL-Based Ontology Management and Multimedia Annotation in the DS-MIRF Framework”
  • Anastasia Karanastasi, Alexandros Zotos, Stavros Christodoulakis, “User Interactions with Multimedia Repositories using Natural Language Interfaces: an Architectural Framework and its Implementation”

 

14:30 – 15:00 Coffee break

 

15:00 - 16:30: Session 3

Session Chair: Stavros Christodoulakis

  • Peter L. Stanchev, David Green Jr., Boyan Dimitrov, “Some Issues in the Art Image Database Systems”
  • Euripides G.M. Petrakis, Giannis Varelas,Angelos Hliaoutakis, Paraskevi Raftopoulou, “Design and Evaluation of Semantic Similarity Measures for Concepts Stemming from the Same or Different Ontologies”
  • Dalibor Mitrovic, Matthias Zeppelzauer, and Horst Eidenberger, “Analysis of the Data Quality of Audio Descriptions of Environmental Sounds”

 Official dinner - restaurant "Monastiri" close to Grant Arsenali

June 20, 2006

The Conference Room of the Grant Arsenali, in the Venetian Harbour of Chania, sponsor by the Technical University of Crete

9:00 – 10:30: Session 4

Session Chair: Chrisa Tsinaraki

  • Ansgar Scherp, Susanne Boll, Holger Cremer, “Emergent Semantics in Personalized Multimedia Content”
  • Emmanuel Eze, Tanko Ishaya, and Dawn Wood, “Contextualizing Multimedia Semantics Towards Personalised eLearning”
  • Maurizio Montagnuolo, Alberto Messina, “Multimedia Knowledge Representation for Automatic Annotation of Broadcast TV Archives”
  •  

10:30 – 11:00 Coffee break

 

11:00 – 12:30: Session 5

Session Chair: Niv Ahituv

  • Samira Hammiche, Bernardo Lopez, Salima Benbernou, Mohand-Saïd Hacid, Athena Vakali, “Domain Knowledge Based Queries for Multimedia Data Retrieval”
  • Sachit Rajbhandari, Frederic Andres, Vilas Wuwongse “Semantic-augmented Blog Management”

·       Blanas G, Blanas A., “Web-based Information Systems in the Stock Market Financial Information Domain”

 

12:30 – 13:30 lunch

 

13:30 - 15:30: Session 6

Session Chair: Ramesh Jain

Final discussion

 

June 21, 2006

08:30 – 18:30 Tour 2

 

 

Participation list

 

Anastasia Karanastasi [allegra@ced.tuc.gr]

Technical University of Crete, Greece

Ansgar Scherp [Ansgar.Scherp@offis.de]

Oldenburg R&D Institute for Computing Tools and Systems

(OFFIS), Germany

Chrisa Tsinaraki [chrisa@ced.tuc.gr]

TUC/MUSIC, Greece

Alessandro Martin [martin@dico.unimi.it]

University of Milan, Italy

Dalibor Mitrovic [mitrovic@ims.tuwien.ac.at]

Vienna University of Technology, Austria

David Green [dgreen@kettering.edu]

Kettering University, USA

Emmanuel Eze [E.Eze@dcs.hull.ac.uk]

Centre for Internet Computing, University of Hull, UK

Euripides Petrakis [petrakis@intelligence.tuc.gr]

TUC/Intelligence, Greece

Frederic Andres [andres@nii.ac.jp]

NII, Japan

George Blanas [blanas@teilar.gr]

Technological Institute of Larissa, Greece

Maurizio Montagnuolo [montagnuolo@di.unito.it]

Turin University, Italy

Niv Ahituv [ahituv@post.tau.ac.il]

Tel Aviv University, Israel

Peter Stanchev [pstanche@kettering.edu]

Kettering University, USA

Ramesh Jain [jain@ics.uci.edu]

University of California, Irvine, USA

Samira Hammiche [shammich@liris.univ-lyon1.fr]

Lyon 1 University, France

Stavros Christodoulakis [stavros@ced.tuc.gr]

TUC/MUSIC, Greece

William Grosky [wgrosky@umich.edu]

University of Michigan - Dearborn, USA